1. Indian Institute of Science

Founded in 1979, the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore is one of the highest regarded Indian institutions, located in the south western Karnataka state.

The university only offers one undergraduate programme: a four-year BA in science. The programme’s core modules are in physics, mathematics, chemistry, biology and humanities. In their final year, students do an individual research project.

The university is heavily focused on research, with around 70 per cent of its student body undertaking PhD and MA research projects. The institute boasts with more than 75 winners of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology (SSB).

2. Indian Institute of Technology Indore

The Indian Institute of Technology Indore is located in Mashya Pradesh Indian. It is one of the Institutes of Technology established by the government of India.

The university has three schools: basic sciences; engineering and humanities and social sciences.

Undergraduate students are encouraged to take part in research projects at the institution in the form of an undergraduate research scheme called Promotion of Research and Innovation for Undergraduate Students (PRIUS).

3. Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

The Indian Institute of Technology in Bombay, set up in 1958, has made its reputation by nurturing some of India’s most respected engineers and scientists and employing internationally renowned professors. The university offers both long and short courses. Its premises are located between India’s financial centre, Mumbai, and the resplendent Sanjay Gandhi National Park, where one can see leopards, panthers and other wild cats.

The institute hosts Techfest, one of Asia’s largest science and technology festival, established in 1998, as well as Mood Indigo, one of Asia’s biggest cultural university festivals.

Notable alumni include Nitin Nohria, the tenth dean of Harvard Business School, the designer of the rupee sign Udaya Kumar, winner of Fulkerson and Knuth Prizes Ravindran Kannan and co-founder and chairman of Syntel Bharat Desai.

4. Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee

The Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee was established in 1847 and its the oldest technical institution in Asia. It gained university status in 1949 and was converted to an Indian Institute of Technology in 2001, becoming the seventh institute in India.

Three student festivals are held every year; a technical festival (Cognizance); a cultural festival (Thomso) and a sports fesitval (Sangram).

The university offers courses in engineering, technology, applied sciences and management.

5. JSS Academy of Higher Education and Research

JSS Academy of Higher Education annd Research is an institute of higher education focussed on medical and health-related studies in Mysore, Karnataka, India.

It is a deemed-to-be-university, an accreditation awarded by India’s Department of Higher Education to higher educational institutions in India working at a very high standard in a specific area of study, which can enjoy academic status and certain privileges of a university. Such institutions are not allowed to use the term “university” in their names.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *